After January 1, 2024, if you are a Minnesota employer, a new law requires you to provide paid leave to your employees who work in the state. An employee is anyone who works at least 80 hours in a year. Temporary and part-time employees are included in this new law. Employers are required to give written notice to all employees of their rights under the new law.
Employers must provide each employee in Minnesota with one hour of Earned Safe and Sick Time (ESST) for every 30 hours worked, with the ability to accumulate at least 48 hours of ESST each year. Your existing leave policy, such as PTO, may already meet Minnesota’s ESST requirements.
If you need information about the specific requirements of this new law, or help with compliance, or a sample of the required notice to employees, please contact one of Goosmann Law Firm's Employment Lawyers.